My Great Grandma’s Classic Pie Crust

One of my favorite hobbies is collecting old family recipes.  Some of my recipes have been handed down for several generations.  Some of them are hand written onto little cards or into notebooks.  The older the recipe, the better, as far as I am concerned.  I come from a long line of good cooks.  My Great Grandma Franke was best known for her pies.  Here is her original pie crust recipe.  While most recipes require cold ingredients and very careful mixing, this recipe uses hot water.  The result is surprisingly foolproof!  Don’t be afraid to use lard.  Real lard from pigs that have had access to the sun is a tremendous sou

rce of vitamin D.  It is also mostly a monounsaturated fat with a nice complement of saturated fat to help make it more heat stable and good for baking.  If you don’t have access to good lard, Spectrum makes a non-hydrogenated palm shortening that also works well.  I have also made this recipe using a combination of butter and lard with sprouted spelt flour instead of white flour.  It was yummy, though not a classic pie crust.


Grandma Franke’s Famous Pie Crust

¾ cup lard

¼ cup hot water

Dash of salt

2 Tablespoons milk

2 cups flour

Mash together the lard and hot water.  Add the milk and salt, beating until fluffy.  Gently stir in the flour.  Form into a ball, wrap in waxed paper, and refrigerate until you are ready to make your pie.  Grandma would also sometimes refrigerate the dough right in the pie plate for later.

One thought on “My Great Grandma’s Classic Pie Crust

  1. Wow… what an interesting pie crust recipe. I’ve never seen one quite like it. I guess it’s more like a pastry dough than a pie crust, but I bet it’s tasty! I can’t wait to try it!

Leave a Reply

