Sprouted Spelt Granola Waffles

waffles sprouted spelt

I just got my order of sprouted spelt flour and soaked granola from JoshEWEa’s Garden and felt inspired to create something new this morning.  These waffles make a quick and easy breakfast.  Serve them with sausage or bacon and plenty of butter.  They are soft and chewy.  You can cool and freeze them to make toaster waffles, which will be more crispy.

Sprouted Spelt Waffles

1 cup milk or kefir

2 eggs

1 Tablespoon melted butter

1 1/2 cups sprouted spelt flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon sea salt

1/2 cup soaked granola (optional)

Mix together the milk, eggs and melted butter.  Stir in the dry ingredients.  You may want to thin the batter with water or milk to your desired consistency.  Follow the directions for your particular waffle maker, greasing it with plenty of butter or lard.

http://www.cheeseslave.com/2009/07/29/real-food-wednesday-july-29-2009/#comment-19891

7 thoughts on “Sprouted Spelt Granola Waffles

  1. This looks like a good, simple, easy waffle recipe – I’d like to try it! Thanks! What kind of waffle maker do you use? I have some cast iron waffles that I can’t season well enough to get the waffles not to stick.

    • I wish I had a cast iron waffle maker. I am still using a non-stick one, though I know it is not ideal.

  2. yummy. im wondering how much they charge for shipping the flour? or do you live in WI? i live in mn, and though we have tons of coops, whole foods, trader joes, ect. not one sells sprouted flour!

    • She ships the sprouted flour by mail. I suppose the cost varies. I think Midvalleyvu farm sells it. You might be able to find people who drive there from Minneapolis.

  3. Wardeh,
    Which cast iron waffle maker do you have? Any recos? I would love to get one for my hubby’s birthday. He would love it. I just can’t buy a nonstick one though…

Leave a Reply

